Web Hosting

Please find below our list of Web Hosting guides to help with your hosting account.

Security: Password protect your site

This article was posted in: Web Hosting

During the development of your website you may wish to enable password protection so that it is only accessible to particular users and you can do just this within the Onyx Portal.

IMPORTANT NOTICE:
The username and password details you setup within the Onyx Portal for this purpose are separate to the WordPress admin login details. This type of protection would also be in addition to any “maintenance mode” plugins you may have installed. In short, no one will be able to access your site without first confirming the credentials you set for them within the Onyx Password Protection tool and, users may then need to sign in to WordPress separately.

To use this feature you’ll first need to enable it. You will then be able to create various authorized users. Steps for both are explained below.

Enable / Disable Password Protection Feature

To enable the password protection feature:

  1. Login to your Onyx Portal
  2. Click the site you wish to configure password protection for.
  3. Click Settings -> Password Protection on the left-hand menu
  4. Click Enable Password Protection

To disable the password protection feature:

  1. Login to your Onyx Portal
  2. Click the site you wish to configure password protection for.
  3. Click Settings -> Password Protection on the left-hand menu
  4. Click Disable Password Protection
Create / Remove an authorised user

To create a user:

  1. Login to your Onyx Portal
  2. Click the site you wish to configure password protection for.
  3. Click Settings -> Password Protection on the left-hand menu
  4. Click Create an authorised user
  5. Enter a username and password for this user
  6. Click Create user.

To remove a user:

  1. Login to your Onyx Portal
  2. Click the site you wish to configure password protection for.
  3. Click Settings -> Password Protection on the left-hand menu
  4. Click Remove next to the authorised user you wish to remove
  5. Confirm the action when prompted

The user will now have been removed from the system. Should the password protection feature be enabled then their credentials will no longer be valid for site access.